Georgetown News
Zach Goebel lays out, trying to block a punt by Benedictine in the playoffs. Photo by Richard Davis
Zach Goebel lays out, trying to block a punt by Benedictine in the playoffs. Photo by Richard Davis
Football - Tue, Feb. 7, 2012

Zach Goebel, Chris Gohman and Cody Parker have been selected for the All Commonwealth Collegiate Team and will be honored at the Kentucky Pro Hall of Fame induction ceremony June 15th in Louisville.

Goebel, who earned All-American honors in his senior season, led the Mid-South Conference East Division with 64 tackles in the regular season and finished with 78. The Indiana native had 6.5 tackles for loss, 1.5 sacks, two interceptions, four pass breakups, one forced fumble and four blocked kicks, helping the Tigers to a semifinal appearance for the first time since 2004. He earned MSC East Defensive Player of the Year Honors for his efforts.

Gohman had another solid season at wide receiver for GC. The junior had 36 catches for 705 yards, ranking him 33rd nationally, with six touchdowns. He accounted for 36 of Georgetown's points this season, third highest on the team.

Parker turned his full focus to his punting responsibilities this season and had 59 punts for 2,444 yards. His 41.4 average per punt ranked him 7th nationally. The junior had seven touchbacks and 16 punts that pinned opponents inside the 20-yard line.

Five other MSC teams had players selected to the ACWT - Lindsey Wilson College (1), Campbellsville University (2), University of the Cumberlands (2), University of Pikeville (1) and Kentucky Christian University (1).

Western Kentucky University had the most players on the team with six. University of Louisville and University of Kentucky had five each. Eastern Kentucky University had four, while GC, Murray State University and Morehead State University all had three. Campbellsville, Centre College, Kentucky State University and Kentucky Wesleyan University all had two, and Lindsey Wilson, Kentucky Christian, Pikeville, Thomas More College and Union College rounded out the schools represented with one each.

Full list:

Defense Name pos

Eastern Kentucky University Patrick McClellan DB

University of the Cumberlands Brendan Kelly DB

University of Louisville Brian Bushell DB

University of Louisville Hakeem Smith DB

University of Kentucky Winston Guy DB

Eastern Kentucky University Anthony Brown DL

Morehead State University Jerome Raymond DL

Western Kentucky University Quanterus Smith DL

University of Kentucky Danny Trevathan LB

University of Louisville Dexter Heyman LB

Eastern Kentucky University Ichiro Vance LB

Georgetown College Zach Goebel

Offense Name pos

University of Kentucky Larry Warford OL

Murray State University Raymond Hopson OL

Western Kentucky University Wes Jeffries OL

Lindsey Wilson College Jon Smith OL

Centre College Ben Hume OL

Murray State University Casey Brockman QB

Western Kentucky University Bobby Rainey RB

Eastern Kentucky University Matt Denham RB

Campellsville University Wayne Coffee RB

Thomas More Domonique Hayden RB

University of Louisville Josh Chichester TE

Western Kentucky University Jack Doyle TE

Campellsville University Stan Warrenhuffman WR

Kentucky Christian University Beau Dailey WR

Morehead State University Donte Sawyer WR

University of Kentucky La'Rod King WR

Special Team Name pos

University of Louisville Chris Philpott K

Kentucky State University Keith Massey KR

University of Kentucky Ryan Tydlacka P

Kentucky State University Raphael Amey PR

Honorable Mention Name pos

College of the Cumberlands Terrance Cobb HM

Centre College Jonathan Pinque HM

Morehead State University Zach Lewis HM

Georgetown College Chris Gohman HM

Western Kentucky University Derrius Brooks HM

Murray State University Dontrell Johnson HM

Western Kentucky University John Evans HM

Georgetown College Cody Parker HM

University of Pikeville Grayson Quick HM

Kentucky Wesleyan University Ken Stoklosa HM

Kentucky Wesleyan University Quadarius Wallace HM

Kentucky Christian University Beau Dailey HM

Union College Demetrius Hicks HM